Can you believe that it is July already?! It really is insane. This year is flying by and before we know it Christmas will be on our doorstep. We have seven weeks until Spring day and then we can start to say goodbye to the cold. We can start thinking about how we want to spend the Christmas holidays and we can start  shedding all the winter layers we have been wearing.

We have decided that we will be going down to Knysna for the December holidays. My two Dad’s live there and they haven’t seen much of Jayden so I think it will be a really special time. Jayden will be 14 months and I can’t wait to take him to the beach and go for some nice scenic walks around Knysna. I definitely want to fly down. I can’t imagine a 13 hour trip in a car with a toddler, in fact it sounds like torture for all of us. I’ve also compared the price of flying versus driving, and with the price of petrol it really doesn’t work out much cheaper to drive. Well, defiantly not cheaper enough to bear the pain of that drive.

While thinking about all of this I also got thinking about my body. I have found that I am a lot kinder to my body since J came along. I am sure its got something to do with healing,  and I am very sure that it has a lot to do with being a mom.

I love my Pilates classes and I have definitely seen a difference in my body as a result. I put on a short sleeve top over one of the weekends and I didn’t recognise my arms. They have definitely become more toned. I never dreamed that I would fall back in love with exercise this much. I’ve been quite a coach potato over the last couple of years decade. As a teenager I used to dance  and I really did have a nice toned body, and then I started my work life and everything started to sag and increase in size. In the past I would normally find an excuse not to do exercise, but with Pilates I feel so motivated. I do a 60 min class every Monday and Wednesday morning and really really look forward to it. Its my time to relax, my time to stretch and my time to get strong.

But unfortunately I have a weakness and it is counteracting all the work I am doing.

Sweets, biscuits, chocolate, rusks, cake, chips, hot chocolate!!!!!! I can’t seem to resist them lately. The funny thing is that I have never really had a sweet tooth, but at the moment I am craving something sweet everyday. Its ridonkulous!!!

Anyway, I want to work towards shedding some extra kilos and toning up in the next seven weeks. Every summer I wish I was thinner and this summer I really want to be proud of my body. I want to be able to wear a nice costume and not feel that I need to cover myself up all the time. My ultimate goal would be to look decent in a bikini, which is possibly shooting a little too high, or maybe it isn’t. All I do know is that I need to get my eating habits under control as well as adding some cardio to my exercise plan.

I’m not talking skinny here. I am talking about a healthy weight with a little bit more tone. For once I would like to sit on the beach and not feel self concious.

My goal is to get down to 68kgs in seven weeks. I am now 74kgs. So that is 6kgs down. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot, but I find that it makes a difference to the way I look because of my height. Even two kilos makes a difference on my body with my height.

So here I go. I’ll update you on my progress on Spring Day!

