Motherhood is dam hard!!

And before you say it’s all worth it……..

I know it is! But sometimes I am allowed to acknowledge just how bloody hard this job is without feeling guilty about moaning.

Jayden has been such hard work lately. He is cutting four top teeth at the same time and I think he is also feeling a bit grotty after his nine month vaccination last week.  He doesn’t want to eat and I think this is affecting his sleep because we have gone from sleeping through to waking about four times a night. This leaves us feeling exhausted and frustrated and leads to lots of bickering between the two of us. Notice that I say ‘I think it’s the teething’ or ‘I think it’s the vaccination, because I honestly don’t know for sure. It’s just a guessing game that I hope to win soon.

I would just love to give our boy some kind of relief for what he is going through. I really hate to see him upset and uncomfortable. Nurofen seems to help a little bit, but not completely and he screams if I try to put pancerol/tee gel/prodol on his teeth. So I guess it is just a stage that we have to get through while trying our best to make him feel comfortable, and trying not to lose our minds. I think that we probably have to do some sleep training to sort out the sleep issue, but I am hesitant to do anything until he is over his teething and the grottiness from the vaccination.

And then I feel guilty for moaning. I know that this will be over soon and I know that it will all be worth it in the end, but sometimes a good moan makes you feel a bit better. And after the moan it’s nice to just have someone acknowledge that motherhood is not easy. It’s the best job I have ever done, but it is also the hardest. Nobody knows what the hell they are doing. We just try to do the best that we can.

Phew! I am not feeling well and I have very little energy. I’m tired and I feel like I am losing my mind. I can cope, and I will cope, but its difficult mommies, its dam difficult.

Thats all.

Edited to add: I LOVE our boy soooo much!!

