I really love what I do!

I just sometimes don’t enjoy the responsibility of running a small business that much. I would love to know that my salary is guaranteed every month and I’d love to not have to worry about debtors and creditors and cash flow. That worry definitely creates permanently raised stress levels in me and I really don’t enjoy that.

Sometimes I really wish that I had a full time job! But I tell myself ….no, I must stick this out and make this work because it will give me freedom in the long run. One of my dreams is to save up for six months maternity leave as my reward! Or even four months and then two months half day. Wouldn’t that be cool!

I’m very lucky to be able to work from home. I don’t have to go into an office everyday. I love running training sessions and love to see the results of a job well done. I like the space that I work in, the arena that I work in and I would really like to expand on that. My dad is currently doing a degree in neuroscience and how it affects leadership. I really find the information quite faciniating.

When we first started trying to conceive I investigated doing a BA Psychology as this field really interests me, and it would really add value to the work I do now. But, of course I put that off, thinking that I would start it when the baby was older. As we all know this didn’t happen and I could probably have an honours by now. But the thought has reared its head again and I am starting to think about it.

Another reason for this is that I sometimes feel that a qualification would give me some extra credibility. I got into the field of training and development by pure mistake. I have a graphic design diploma, I worked in a small company for about three years and then I got involved in my dad’s business. I’ve never worked in a corporate and the only qualification I have that goes with what I do now is my coaching.

I know that it really is the experience that qualifies you to do the job. A piece of paper can say little about ability, but I do think it gives more credibility to a name.

What are your thoughts on this?

I’m thinking maybe distance learning…..BA Pschyc through Unisa??

