Ten years ago today I officially ended a bad relationship and started a great one. I was in an on-again-off-again relationship with an extremely immature moron. Looking back who knows why I stayed in the relationship so long. There was loads of manipulation and infidelity. Although I can only see that now, at the time I was blinded. My dad even had a secret nickname for him ‘Gironkey’- As tall as a giraffe as stupid as a donkey!!!! Hahaha!

On the 10 Dec 1999 I attended my uncles business Christmas party. We went to watch a show at the Randburg waterfront and I went as a date for one of his employees. A blind date, I had never met this dude before, and accepted the invitation from my uncle VERY reluctantly. The evening was very pleasant and my date turned out to be a very shy and quiet guy. He hardly sad a word to me at first, but I could feel his eyes on me all the time. Finally after a beer or two he plucked up the courage to start the small talk! I remember thinking how sweet he was. So different to what I was used to.

I will always remember him asking me,

“Do you like movies?”

“Yes”, I said.

“Have you seen the Blair Witch project?”

“Not yet”, I said.

And then very quickly as if ripping off a plaster “Do you wanna go watch it with me?”

“Yes” I said.

And I smiled inside as I knew there was something different about this guy. We never got to see the Blair Witch Project, but three months later we were engaged and eighteen months later we were married.

I love you my precious husband. Here to another ten years, in good times and bad.

